Healthy Release: How to Deal with Emotions

Have you ever experienced a time when you just felt alone? Even when you’re surrounded by friends or people that love you, you feel like no one understands you or that you can’t truly reveal your feelings. It’s a maddening feeling not being able to express emotion without fear of being judged or psychologically evaluated. Sometimes healthy release is necessary to keep your sanity. So here are a few ways that I cope with my emotions.

1. Write it down: I’ve been writing since I was in middle school and I found that it’s the best way to get all my emotions out of my head so that I don’t have to ponder over them. Sometimes I write in my diary and other times I will write and burn the pages (also therapeutic).

2. Listen to music: Music has always been a mood changer of mine. I have an emotional playlist that get me in and out of my mood. I love instrumentals to calm me and loud alternative rock bands to release anger and tension. It usually makes me feel better.

3. Talk to someone: Yes, expressing my feelings is hard for me, especially when I feel like no one is listening but I have a select group of girlfriends that I can talk to about anything. We don’t pass judgement, we just listen and share our advice. And I can talk to my sisters because they’re always around.

4. Cry: This is still hard for me to do, only because I think that tears are a sign of weakness, not strength. I keep hearing that it’s good to have a good cry every once in a while to get out all the pinned up emotions but I don’t like doing it.

5. Keep the faith: I struggle with this one as well, mainly because I’m constantly planning my life. So when things don’t go as I planned and I feel emotionally overwhelmed, my mom always says to “have faith.” Sometimes it’s just helpful to know that no matter what, things will get better. My pessimistic nature still struggles with looking on the bright side but I’m a work in progress.

So that’s it; the five things I try to do to keep my emotions in check. I hope this helps someone.

Leave a Reply

