Why I Stopped Looking for Love

 Unapologetically, I am one of those hopeless romantics in love with the idea of love. But over time, I learned that at some point, you have to stop looking and let love find you. 

I stopped looking for love for a number of reasons. One of which being that if I spend all my time looking for Mr. Right, I’d leave no time to focus on myself and personally grow. Being the best version of myself is more important to me than meeting someone when I have not found my purpose. 

Another reason being that looking for love hinders the opportunity for romance. Spending too much time trying to read gestures deaden the moment and chases opportunities for actual love away. 

Even if I made a checklist of all the things I’m looking for in a significant other, everything on that list will not get checked off. No one is perfect. Setting my sights on someone that I made up in my mind will prevent me from experiencing relationships with worthy people. I’ve asked myself, “How will you know unless you give him a chance?” 

My final reason is that I’m not afraid to be single until my soulmate comes around. I was listening to this song the other day by singer, Tory Kelly, called “Dear No One,” and her lyrics resonated in me. There’s nothing wrong with being alone and waiting for God to send you the one that is supposed to be in your life. And until that person comes, “stop looking for that future someone.” 

I think it’s human nature for us to believe in the idea that there’s someone out there for everyone. A soulmate. Someone who we can love and be loved in return. We become obsessed with the notion so much that it nearly consumes us and we find ourselves looking for our great love in every person we meet.

Opportunities always come when we least expect it, it’s the same scenario in regards to love. As soon as we stop looking for it, it will reveal itself and nothing’s better than having those butterflies as soon as you hear their voice or see their face. And moments like that make having a soulmate worth the wait. 

Leave a Reply

