Were Arthur & Guinevere the Exception? Courtship vs. Dating 

If we look at the individual definitions of both, a “courtship” is defined as “a period during which a couple develop a romantic relationship, especially with a view to marriage.” (Source: Webster Dictionary)

The term “Dating” has multiple definitions and stages. “Dating” is defined as “a stage of romantic and/or sexual relationships whereby two or more people meet socially, possibly as friends or with the aim of each assessing the other’s suitability as a partner in a more committed intimate relationship or marriage” (Source: Wikipedia)

If we compared the two, we can discern that both terms signify two people coming together with a view to marriage. The main difference is that dating allows an individual to date more than one person and can include a sexual relationship. A courtship is a relationship where individuals determine whether its God’s will for them to marry each other.

When I think of a courtship, I think of couples like King Arthur and Lady Guinevere or Tristan and Isolde, two people who had every intention of being together. An utter and relentless devotion to one another with the irrevocable desire to be together til death do they part.

From these definitions I can discern that people who date do not see marriage as an option. Courtship is a decision to avoid temptation and to give one’s heart away little by little to someone else who will be your partner forever.

It is my choice to wait for God’s very best for me. Some people may question my decision to stop dating, but I decided to walk by faith and put an end to casual relationships. Dating opens the door to temptation which I do not want or need in order to build my spiritual relationship with God. I am fully confident in my journey and am excited to see what the future holds.

~Kels

Photo cred: Medieval Chronicles

Leave a comment